Abstract image representing "Workforce Development"

Workforce Development

Workforce Development

Expand for overview

Chapter 7 (Workforce development) summarizes the microelectronics and advanced packaging technologies (MAPT) workforce needs for the next decade. It is a national consensus that both the current talent pool and the pathways for creating and supporting a US domestic MAPT workforce fall far short of projected needs for the US and it has reached a critical point with respect to US economic and national security. The current pipeline for workers across the spectrum of education levels, from technical certifications, associate-degree operators and maintenance engineers to M.S. and Ph.D. engineers in microelectronics and advanced packaging technologies (MAPT), is insufficient in terms of numbers and of knowledge, skills, and abilities for tomorrow’s needs [6]. This chapter contains: (i) projections/timeline for microelectronics workforce needs; (ii) roadmap for a nationwide “Winning Hearts and Minds” campaign; (iii) holistic, effective WFD framework for the entire MAPT eco-system.

6 2021 Report Chipping In – The Positive Impact of the Semiconductor Industry on the American Workforce and How Federal Incentives Will Increase Domestic Jobs, Semiconductor Industry Association and Oxford Economics, May 2021 https://www.semiconductors.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/SIA-Impact_May2021-FINAL-May-19-2021_2.pdf

Chapter contributors

Michaela Amoo, Howard University
Shyam Aravamudhan, N.C. A&T State University
Navid Asadi, University of Florida
Harish Balan, Synopsys, Inc.
Eric Batten, Texas Instruments Incorporated
Khaled Benkrid, Arm Limited
Aditi Bhandari, Texas Instruments Incorporated
Ambika Carter, GlobalFoundries Inc.
Ramesh Chauhan, Qualcomm
Katy Crist, Tokyo Electron Limited (TEL)
Doreen Edwards, Rochester Institute of Technology
Sean Eilert, Consultant (formerly Micron Technology, Inc.)
Mark B. Fuselier, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Robert Geer, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
Kai Glass, Semiconductor Research Corporation
Jacqueline Hall, Semiconductor Research Corporation
Carol Handwerker, Purdue University
David Hernadez, IPC
Jayashree HV, Qualcomm
Angela Hwang, Synopsys, Inc.
Hensu Jang, SK hynix Inc.
Mohamed Kassem, eFabless
Lionel C. Kimerling, Mass. Institute of Technology

Shari Liss, SEMI
Jyoti Malhotra, Materials Research Society
Gabriele Manganaro, MediaTek, Inc.
Amy Marconnet, Purdue University
Arturo Mateos, Northrop Grumman
Amrita Mathuriya, Kepler Computing
Willie May, Morgan State University
Colin McAndrew, NXP Semiconductors
Chris Mitchell, IPC
Melinda Murdock, Intel Corporation
Debo Olaosebikan, Kepler Computing
Chris Olsen, Applied Materials, Inc.
Mark Oneill, Innovation Impact Partners
Mark Poliks, Binghamton University
Madhukar Rao, Innovation Impact Partners
Janine Rush-Byers, Micron Technology, Inc.
Alan Seabaugh, University of Notre Dame
JIhoon Seo, Clarkson University
Nitin Shah, MITRE
Greg Snider, University of Notre Dame
Quinn Spadola, Georgia Institute of Technology
Jim Wieser, Texas Instruments Incorporated
Zoran Zvonar, Analog Devices, Inc.