Abstract image representing MAPT chapter 11

Workforce Development

Workforce Development

Chapter 11 (Workforce Development) summarizes the microelectronics and advanced packaging technologies (MAPT) workforce needs for the next decade. It is a national consensus that both the current talent pool and the pathways for creating and supporting a US domestic MAPT workforce fall far short of projected needs for the US and it has reached a critical point with respect to US economic and national security. The current pipeline for workers across the spectrum of education levels, from technical certifications, associate-degree operators and maintenance engineers to M.S. and Ph.D. engineers in microelectronics and advanced packaging technologies (MAPT), is insufficient in terms of numbers and of knowledge, skills, and abilities for tomorrow’s needs [6]. This chapter contains: (i) projections/timeline for microelectronics workforce needs; (ii) roadmap for a nationwide “Winning Hearts and Minds” campaign; (iii) holistic, effective WFD framework for the entire MAPT eco-system.

6 2021 Report Chipping In – The Positive Impact of the Semiconductor Industry on the American Workforce and How Federal Incentives Will Increase Domestic Jobs, Semiconductor Industry Association and Oxford Economics, May 2021 https://www.semiconductors.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/SIA-Impact_May2021-FINAL-May-19-2021_2.pdf

Chapter contributors

Carol Handwerker (Purdue University) – Chair (through 7/30/2023)
Jim Wieser (Texas Instruments) – Vice Chair
Doreen Edwards (RIT) – Vice Chair
Michaela Amoo (Howard University)
Shyam Aravamudhan (N.C. A&T State University)
Navid Asadi (University of Florida)
Harish Balan (Synopsys)
Eric Batten (Texas Instruments)
Khaled Benkrid (Arm)
Aditi Bhandari (Texas Instruments)
Ambika Carter (GlobalFoundries)
Ramesh Chauhan (Qualcomm)
Katy Crist (TEL)
Sean Eilert (independent)
Mark B. Fuselier (Micron)

Robert Geer (SUNY Poly)
Kai Glass (SRC)
Jacqueline Hall (SRC)
David Hernadez (IPC)
Jayashree HV (Qualcomm)
Angela Hwang (Synopsys)
Hensu Jang (SK hynix)
Jack Judy (University of Florida)
Mohamed Kassem (eFabless)
Lionel C. Kimerling (MIT)
Shari Liss (SEMI)
Jyoti Malhotra (NIST)
Gabriele Manganaro (MediaTek)
Amy Marconnet (Purdue University)
Arturo Mateos (Northrop Grumman)
Amrita Mathuriya (Kepler Computing)
Willie May (Morgan State University)

Colin McAndrew (NXP)
Chris Mitchell (IPC)
Melinda Murdock (Intel)
Umit Ogras (UW-Wisconsin)
Debo Olaosebikan (Kepler Computing)
Chris Olsen (Applied Materials)
Mark Oneill (Innovation Impact Partners)
Mark Poliks (SUNY Binghamton)
Madhukar Rao (Innovation Impact Partners)
Janine Rush-Byers (Micron Technology)
Alan Seabaugh (University of Notre Dame)
JIhoon Seo (Clarkson University)
Nitin Shah (MITRE)
Greg Snider (University of Notre Dame)
Quinn Spadola (NNCO)
Kashyap Yellai (SRC)
Zoran Zvonar (Analog Devices)